• Welcome to 205GTIDrivers.com!

Hello dear visitor! Feel free to browse but we invite you to register completely free of charge in order to enjoy the full functionality of the website.

Sign in to follow this  
hoodygoodwood

Painting A 309 Rear Bumper - Advice Please

hoodygoodwood

I need to spray a standard 309 rear bumper , what are my chances of the paint flaking off ? I have no experience of spraying and would like some advice on what preparation the plastic bumper will need and what type of undercoat or primer would be advised .

A 309 bumper is a thinner more flexible plastic with a fine rough finish than the 205 GRP ( ? ) type . I can get a new one from the French company to match the new front bumper but it will save £200 to use the existing one .

pugdamo

Are you painting it because it's faded? If so could you not just plasticare all the plastics, will probably be cheaper than painting the rear bumper aswell.

farmer

I would just get a new rear one and don't penny pinch, especially if you have a new front.

allye

Guessing its for the white turbo car with white bumpers? I'm sure miles is aware of dying plastics!

theoilburner

Zero chance of flaking off if it's done properly. I'm assuming you want to paint it a colour and not just restore the original grey plastic. If you want it 100% smooth follow this guide.....just be aware that everyone has their own way of doing it but having worked in a main dealer paint shop for 10 years the method I use has never flaked.

Rub the bumper down with red scotchbrite and panel wipe, the panel wipe cleans the bumper and gives the scotchbrite some bite. I then lightly abrade the surface again with coarse sandpaper - 80 to 120 grit (some people will not agree with this but any marks will be removed at a later stage).

Clean bumper throughly with panel wipe.

Apply plastic primer - professional stuff is single pack clear liquid.