• Welcome to 205GTIDrivers.com!

Hello dear visitor! Feel free to browse but we invite you to register completely free of charge in order to enjoy the full functionality of the website.

Sign in to follow this  
mrfirepro

Engine Bay Rust

mrfirepro

Nearly finished the strip-out, the next job will be to sort the rust in the engine bay. As I'm new to this, would anyone provide advice on the process (mechanical/chemical) and products to use.

The rust does not seem bad and it looks mainly like surface rust, but I guess until I start stripping (the car that is) I wont know.

Arwing

I rubbed the area down with metal sanding paper before cleaning with car shampoo, water and a sponge. Once dry, i added a coat of KURUST to the affected areas (wait about 3hrs until blue/black) before applying about 3 coats of Hammerite paint. Not a professional finish but not bad either. Gives the smae effect of stonechip paint.

Before

post-23676-0-11284100-1376814988_thumb.jpg
KURUST treated driver side
post-23676-0-94470800-1381668395_thumb.jpg
Hammerite treated driver side
post-23676-0-29585300-1381668569_thumb.jpg

KURUST treated passenger side

post-23676-0-71397600-1381668481_thumb.jpg
Hammerite treated passenger side
post-23676-0-74079000-1381668666_thumb.jpg
Edited by Arwing

mrfirepro

If I wanted completely remove the rust is the best method a wire wheel attached to a drill, (or is there a less brutal method) how do I get to the seamed areas?

GLPoomobile