• Welcome to 205GTIDrivers.com!

Hello dear visitor! Feel free to browse but we invite you to register completely free of charge in order to enjoy the full functionality of the website.

Sign in to follow this  
Guest tomwp

Removing Lower Front Suspension Arms

Guest tomwp

Hi,

Complete beginners questions...

How do you remove the lower front suspension arm from the hub carrier? The ball joint pin seems completely stuck/rusted in. I have removed retaining nut and tried moving the steering rack then hammering it in various positions all with no joy. Any tips appreciated.

Second beginners question...

How do you remove the gear linkage rods, I thought they should just pull off the balls, is that right?

Thanks,

Tom.

welshpug

firstly, use a lever bar over the wishbone and push down, whatever you do do not try and prise the clamp open with a screwdriver or chisel.

secondly, use a spanner, around a 13mm, that'll usually work to pop at least one end off.

Baz

Little bit of light oil/lube can help, as they do get very stuck in there with a bit of corrosion at times!

A whack to the wishbone itself with a hammer sometimes helps too!

Daviewonder
secondly, use a spanner, around a 13mm, that'll usually work to pop at least one end off.

Like so :lol:

SAM_0691.jpg

Guest tomwp

Excellent, thank you. Will try early tomorrow evening when I won't upset the neighbours.

(I wish it looked that clean)

Edited by tomwp

Baz

13mm won't be quite big enough although will do the smaller rod, around 15mm will be better for the larger rods iirc! :lol:

SurGie

Iv used a track rod end puller tool, the fork end to remove the rods.

pug_ham
13mm won't be quite big enough although will do the smaller rod

It should be, thats the size I always used before I went to Miles' gear rods iirc.

Graham.

Guest tomwp

Excellent, a pair of spanners - one small (8mm) and one larger (13mm) did the trick on the smaller size gear linkage.

So my third beginners question...